Menu
China for Christmas and Hong Kong for new year!!! 2007!!!
Oct 3, 2007 07:58
  • 4NDY
Hi everyone, ive booked to go traveling to china for christmas ( Beijing / Xian etc) and then off to Hong Kong for new year!! All tips and info would be great as its my first time to china and Hong Kong!! Weather - type of clothes to take, money etc. do's and donts would be great too.
Thanks in anticipation of your replys.
Regards
4ndy
Oct 3, 2007 22:49
  • REDROSES
For Hong Kong --lightweight jacket/pants, mostly jeans, polo shirts and good walking shoes -- sneakers. I'm returning there again from US for both holidays. As for money I find the money changers give a better rate but shop around. ATM's are there, too. In Hong Kong, you can also explore Kowloon and WanChai via the Star Ferry. In Central HK, there is a beautiful Christmas display that is breathtaking. There is entertainment on weekends.

For Beijing (my first time there), I am told it is cold and to bring a down jacket -- even long underwear. Exchange rate is basically the same at all places (that's what the travel books say) -- even at the airport. That's something new because in other countries the airports' exchange rate is definitely not the best.

Oct 5, 2007 05:48
  • 4NDY
Thanks redroses for that given me some ideas.

Ive been told and read in a few places the great wall is great at in December time due to the lack of rain and tourists, but will snow and the real cold be a problem? Or is it a case of good walking shoes, a jumper and an all weather coat?

Regards 4ndy
Oct 5, 2007 13:09
GUEST01219 Yes, the Great Wall is great, but that it is also cold at that time. So make sure to take thicker coat. The weather in HongKong is opposite to Beijing. give you my contact information, yahoo.com|jennysun729 or add my skype accout: sunyongda729. I could give you more informations. I live in Beijing.
Oct 5, 2007 23:22
  • JABAROOTOO