Menu
Former Microsoft Chief involved in “fake degree” scandal!
Jul 8, 2010 01:25
  • JIMMYB
Jun Tang, former president of Microsoft China, is involved in “fake degree” scandal.

Fang Zhouzi, known as a “Science Cop”, accused Jun Tang fabricated his doctorate degree from California Institute of Technology. Fang also doubted Tang’s ownership of two companies early in Tang’s career in US.

Jun Tang of course fights back. “I've never said I graduated from the California Institute of Technology (CIT). I only said I had done some research there,” Tang said. He also told China Daily that he got his doctorate degree at Pacific Western University.

However, Fang has found out some evidence. Fang s checked the names of graduates from CIT's computer science department and didn’t find the name Jun Tang, the name that Tang used when he entered Microsoft in 1994. He also checked the patent database of the US Patent and Trademark Office since 1976 and found that Tang’s two patents - a rating system for karaoke bars and a machine for producing photo stickers - are actually owned by other people.

After Tang said that he got his doctorate degree at Pacific Western University, Fang did some research and claimed that PWU had been closed by the US government in 2006 for selling degrees.

In earlier time, Fang found that Tang had written in his book My Success Could Be Duplicated that he received a doctoral degree in computer science from CIT. And this can be found in the early-published book.

When I was in college, I had heard about Jun Tang and set him as my example. Now I am disappointed to see that he fabricated his doctorate degree and two patents.

Photo and conten are excerpted from China Daily.

Jul 10, 2010 01:27
GUEST10148 I like proof that Jun Tang did not honestly study to get his doctorate and what was his actual capacity(actual title, honoaray CEO for life, did he fire all those who stood up to him..etc) while at MSFT before we can actually assume that.