Menu
New passport old Resident Permit
Feb 6, 2013 23:21
  • RAURI5
Hey everyone, I am a student studying in china, but I'm currently in Australia for the winter holidays, I got a new passport as my old one was about to expire. They had to "cut" my old passport when I got a new one,
And I was wondering if I could still use my old cut passport's Resident Permit to go back to china? My old passport was a 5 year one, new one is 10.
I heard some people said I had to transfer it, but I'm in Aus
Can I get my Resident Permit transferred to my new passport whilst in Australia? (I doubt it)

Really worried as I have to go back to china to continue study at the end of the month!
Please help
And thanks a lot!
Rauri
Feb 6, 2013 23:59
GUEST443212 They had to "cut" my old passport when I got a new one,

What do you mean 'cut"? As I know, they won't take your old passport away. I suggest you bring your old and new passports together when entering China.
Feb 7, 2013 00:21
  • RAURI5
They said by law I can only have one, so they literally cut the front page in half front top to bottom.
Feb 7, 2013 00:44
GUEST443212
Quote:

Originally Posted by RAURI5 View Post

They said by law I can only have one, so they literally cut the front page in half front top to bottom.

Did you tell them that the resident permit issued with your old passport is still valid? Usually, your old passport number is shown on the new one. But you have to use both if the visa on the old one is valid.
Feb 7, 2013 18:43
  • RAURI5
Seems its been invalidated. Probably can't use the old one, so... I really don't know what to do?
Feb 9, 2013 10:37
  • WANHU
Go to the China Consulate (visa section) and inquire within. You need their approval whether you can use or otherwise (your old passport).
Wan
Feb 13, 2013 20:00
  • CINDY99LEE