Trip to Hainan Island January 26-31 2010 

Written by Feb 4, 2010 21:05
Add Friends:
Email 1 Email 2 Email 3

No more than 10 friends at a time, please.

Introduction and First 12 hours

I am an English and Finance teacher at a university in Yangzhou in Jiangsu Province, Yangzhou is about a hour and half bus ride south of Nanjing and four hours northwest of Shanghai. Though the winters here are short, December and January, there is a nasty wetness to the cold. This year I resolved to get away to the warmest place in China in winter, Hainan Island.

My girlfriend signed us up for a four day/five night tour at 2050rmb per person. My girlfriend is from Beijing. I am not fluent in Chinese and would have not enjoyed this tour with her as the tour guide could not speak English and all the other tourists were Chinese,

The tour advertised meals included. I had budgeted 5000 rmb with the expectation that we could spend up to 5500 on recreation.ground ransportation and souvenirs.
Well, we exceeded our budget, we spent 6250 rmb, though we did only a third of the elective activities offered by the tour. Almost a 1000 rmb was spent on see three places on tour which were not free. I will discuss this aspect of the tour in more detail later.

Our evening flight arrived in Haikou at 8pm in the evening. It was foggy when we arrived and probably 16 or 17 degree celsius. As we disembarked, the stewardess annnounced that the iarport was 25 kilometers from the center of Haikou. I anticipated about 20-25 minute journey but it took about forty five minutes before we arrived at out hotel which is in the city, though not the Central Business District.