A Glimpse of Xian 

Written by Dec 3, 2010 02:42
Add Friends:
Email 1 Email 2 Email 3

No more than 10 friends at a time, please.

Had been studied in a university based in Xian for 4 years and now work in Xian after graduation, I am quite familiar with it. Hope my post here will be helpful to you.

I only visited the Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses for one time as a class activity, when I was a sophomore. We didn't pay any admission fee, because it's one of the education bases of our university. We didn't use the public transportation either, but chartered a bus to send us there and then back to school directly, rmmb25 per one if I remember right. The day was an International Museum Day. As a part of celebration activities, we were luckily to have the archaeological team leader of the museum to be our guide. He was knowledgeable, professional and humorous. Rather than the well-known tour guide manuals, he talked a lot about his assumptions. It just felt like he was telling a historical story, an interesting experience I had never had. For those individual visitors, it is 100% possible to reach the site by public transportation. The special tourism bus line 5 (bus no. 306) is traveling between the Museum of Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses and Xian Railway Station. The bus is air-conditioned and departs once fully-occupied or every five minutes. I visited the museum only once but took this bus line many times to visit my friend. The best public buses in Xian as far as I known.

Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses