Why I never reached Juizhaigou (and what I did instead) - Part I -

Written by Oct 10, 2007 07:20
Add Friends:
Email 1 Email 2 Email 3

No more than 10 friends at a time, please.

1. An (im)perfect plan

It had been in my agenda for months. On October 2nd I would meet my good friend in Sichuan's famous nature park Jiuzhaigou (九寨沟) Due to the huge tourist crowds everywhere, the October holiday is of course not the best time to visit a well-known place like that, but since I am a teacher here, I of course have to adhere to the Chinese holiday calendar too. My friend, whom I know since I was 12, is currently traveling in the south of China. Around Christmas time she will visit me in Xi'an, but our planned meeting in Jiuzhai would be a nice mini-reunion after not having seen each other for over a year. However, I never reached Jiuzhaigou.

On the afternoon of October 1st, I took the bus to the exceptionally crowded Xi'an train station area. The bus couldn't even make it to the end of the line, and we walked the last streets to the main plaza in front of Xi'an central station. My god; it seemed like the entire population of Xi'an was gathering at this square and calling it a beehive or an ant nest would certainly be a grave understatement. Needless to say, it took me quite some time (and a lot pushing and pulling) before I reached the entrance of the station building and getting to the actual platform was an equally challenging experience.