Kunming's World Horti-Expo Garden 

Written by Apr 6, 2007 02:04
Add Friends:
Email 1 Email 2 Email 3

No more than 10 friends at a time, please.

The world horticultural garden exposition in northest Kunming is a global exposition of the highest degree. First opened in May of 1999, this theme park remains a dazzling display of sights, sounds and colors. Containing dozens of theme gardens, this park will impress and amaze anyone interested in natural or man-made science, art, poetry or Chinese architecture.

I took the #71 bus from Beijing Lu in downtown Kunming to the main entrance to the gardens. The bus fare was only 1 RMB. Entrance into the gardens was 100 RMB. Although this entrance fee may seem high, compared to other destination theme parks, I thought it was very fair. After I paid the entrance fee, I was given a plastic card and a colorful map to enter the park. Being a naturalist-at-heart and a gardener by trade, I knew upon entering the gates that this place was special.

Once inside the gates, one walks through a flower garden road. The colors and varieties of flowers, planted in colorful patterns, is very vivid. Along this flower garden road there are flower columns, flower streams, a flowered sailing ship and a flower clock to view. Also bi-lingual tour guides offer their services as companion guides complete with video cameras and expertise. The Chinese man who approached me, however, only spoke rudimentary english and i was set to experience this park on my own.

The World Horti-Expo garden contains 5 large exhibition halls, 7 special gardens, 34 domestic (Chinese) gardens, 28 international gardens and numerous trails into the natural hillside forests. Perhaps because of the size and complexity of this park, very little english information was available as far as what this place has to offer. Fortunately the garden tour maps and directional signs are written in both chinese and english.