My Gubeikou Travel Review 

Written by Mar 30, 2011 21:00
Add Friends:
Email 1 Email 2 Email 3

No more than 10 friends at a time, please.

Actually, it was in the year 2010, when I was an international student in Beijing. At that time, I really got tired of school life, so I asked several friends to go somewhere with me on a weekend. Since I really wanted to avoid the crowds and some of my friends had not been to the Great Wall, we made a deal to go to the Gubeikou, where there was a section of uncrowded Wall.

I got up early that morning and met my friends at the school gate, then we headed for the Beijing North Railway Station to take the train to Gubeikou. Truly it was the slowest train of Beijing and it took us four hours or so on the way. This made us stay overnight at Gubeikou, in order to fully tour the Wall, which was not in the plan. Actually, an episode happened then. After we arriving at the railway station and went to buy the tickets, the ticket seller told us that there was no train from Beijing to Gubeikou, which really caught us on the hop. As none of us wanted to travel to the bus station to catch a bus, we finally decided to buy tickets to the nearest railway station to Gubeikou---Huairou and then thought some other ways to reach the Gubeikou Great Wall after getting off the train. I thought the God must love us very much. We encountered a frequent passenger on the train and he told us the train would stop at Gubeikou Railway Station. The only thing we needed to do was to go to the train attendant to adjust the fare. At last, the kind-hearted train attendant helped us to get off at Gubeikou.

It seems that I have wasted my words too much. All right, let me come to the point. I will recommend some of my favorite sites of the Gubeikou Great Wall, which consists of Panlongshan Great Wall, Wohushan Great Wall and Simatai Great Wall.