Menu
question about US airport customs
Nov 15, 2005 01:03
  • NORTH
I dont think there is an existing topic on this, and I have to know.

Ive bought a dvd player, dvds, mp3 player, clothes, a phone, and so on and plan to bring it back to US. Do I really have to declare all of this upon returning to the US?

Also they gave me a customs slip on the plane and chinese customs took it from me without giving me a copy. I didnt declare anything bout having a watch, phone, or a camera with me to China. Will they make me pay import duty on that?

Very worried since this is my first time abroad and not knowledgable bout US customs regulations.
Nov 15, 2005 08:12
  • KEVINKIKI
If you still can find those items original invoice then it will be no problem. No any duty when you bring them back to USA.

Jul 5, 2008 09:45
GUEST24082 Hi,

My father and my stepmom came to visit me in China (I live here, but I am from the US), and they brought a camera which they have decided they would like to leave with me, because I didn't bring a camera a year ago when I came. Is this ok? Thank you for your information

Sincerely,
Katherine Miller
Jul 5, 2008 23:00
  • JABAROOTOO
Relax,

Firstly Go and have a look at the US Customs website. It will all be there for you to see.

http://www.cbp.gov/xp/cgov/travel/vacation/kbyg/

Second:
Everyone travels with at least one camera, MP3 player, mobile phone, clothes, etc so even if you bought them here in China you should not have to declare them since they are you personal use items.

Third:
The DVD player and DVD's may attract some attention. Do not try to take loads of DVD's that you have bought for only Y5 or so.
You need not declare the player if you have the purchase dockets that are dated proving that you have been using it while you were here.

Remember customs allows a certain amount of electrical goods, tobacco, alcohol and perfume without duty. If you are within these limits you will be OK

Aug 28, 2008 20:28