Menu
New 2 China
Jul 2, 2004 16:06
  • BEN2CHINA
Greetings all!
My wife and I are teaching in Shanghi this year and I am wondering if I should bring my mtn bike, and if I need a computer should I buy it here on the mainland or wait to get to Shanghi? I am 6'5" and am concerned about finding a bike to suit. Can one find all the fixxins? And the laptop, is Shanghi a good place to buy such a thing, can I find one in English, are they compatiable as far as plug ins and oultlets go? Other things to consider that I may not have thought of? I am totally excited and inspired by the stories that I have read and heard. If you have a specific story or sit e that you think might be of interest to me, please, do share. To give you some insight into who we are: we are from Oregon, age 30, both extremely active and adventurous, enjoy a holistic and celbratory lifestyle. I am an Art teacher and Artist, ceramics and paint. Thanks in advance for any sharing and insights. Peace B
Jul 5, 2004 19:40
  • DANIELLEEC
Hi,nice to hear from you.As you mentioned,to buy a bike in Shanghai is pretty easy. as the price is low and the commodity in Shanghai(normally speaking) is diverse and low-priced.If you have any question,please mail to me. I'm a university student in Shanghai and glad to help both of you!
Sincerely Yours
Jul 6, 2004 03:02
  • BEN2CHINA
Hi Danielleec,
Thanks for the feedback! Is there any good mtn. biking in the area and how many people travel by bicycle? Is it still the dominat mode of transportation or are more people driving cars? What are you studying at universtiy? Thanks again, Peace B
Jul 6, 2004 11:00
  • DAISY
Driving car is very common is Shanghai, you know the main car production base is located in Shanghai, the Volkswagen China, Shanghai, so you can find the fashionable car on the street, for Shanghai is the leader in some vogue field. Maybe you will find a concept car or admiral car. So does the laptop!
Oct 3, 2004 17:08
  • DANIELLEEC