Menu
help me plan a great 6 day trip!
Jul 17, 2004 22:57
  • MEASH
Hello!

I'm an English teacher in Japan. I have an amazing adventure planned for this summer! I will take the ferry from Osaka to Shanghai next friday. I have a week to travel in China, although I have to be in Beijing on the following thursday to collect train tickets (i'm starting my journey on the transiberian route through mongolia and russia 2 days after that..).

Gosh.. sorry.. I get a bit long winded when I type..

So anyway, I went to the book shop today hoping to buy a lonely planet china book.. Low and behold.. there wasn't one..

Now i'm worried that i'll be so busy getting lost in China, I won't see what I want to see, or other things that I don't know are there..

Basically.. there are a few things I want to see. Shanghai (as I arrive there), The Terracotta warriors (Xian?), the Great Wall (what's the best bit you'd reccommend??), and the forbidden city/tianamen square.

Will I be able to do all that in under a week? Would I be able to visit anywhere else on my journey? (I heard that Suzhou is beautiful..) Will I be able to navigate myself fairly easily without a guide book, only speaking in English?

Mental note.. Plan things more in advance in the future..

Advice please?? :D

meash
Jul 19, 2004 03:55
  • DIDIER
Hi Meash,