teach in AUgust. I am just wondering if there is anyone out there I
can tlak with who can give me some adivce regarding this move. I
also need to know if there are any sweet night spots, and if you
guys can get NHL via satellite. Anyways please let me know if you
are willing to chat and help me with some info regarding this
beautful cit. THanks.

Apr 27, 2006 20:11
  • WINDENERGY
Hello Canadian teacher moving to Xiamen.
My name is Cortlandt, I am an American English teacher living in Changxing, Zhejiang Province.

I am posting a reply to your request because I know that I provide some help to you, even if it isn't about Xiamen. Living in China has been a rich and wonderful experience for me (only been here for 2 months). Changxing is more of an 'old-fashioned 'small-town', located between the metropolises of Shanghai and Hangzhou. My understanding is that Xiamen is a 'modern' city, with many friendly natives and a huge need for English teachers.

I am considering teaching in Xiamen in 2007, agter my one-year contract in Changxing ends. Currently, I don't believe China has access to Satellite TV. At least I've never seen a single dish in Shanghai, Hangzhou or Changxing. You will probably have to subscribe to an internet feed i.e. nhl.com if you want to watch hockey in China. I may be wrong....you should post this question in the forum and I'm sure the community will respond.

Please, feel free to ask me any questions involving your transition from Canada to Xiamen. The Chinese culture is quite different than the westerners, get ready for some rude differences.

Also, since your a hockey fan, I just wanted to put in my wishes for the Edmonton Oilers to upset the Red Wings in the first round. Deep-down, however, I'll be rooting for the Colorado Avalanche to bring the Stanley Cup back to Denver!
Cheers,
Windenergy, a.k.a. 'Breeze'
Apr 27, 2006 22:45