Menu
Teaching and living in Chengdu?
Jul 26, 2006 21:05
  • GREGSOUL
Howdy all

My name's Greg - I'm new to this forum, but have browsed it a bit and picked up some useful tidbits.

I'm currently in Bangkok, but heading to China in the coming days, to teach for a few months.

I'm still trying to decide between Chengdu or Kunming - I've heard Chengdu's weather is not as good as Kunming's?? But also that the food in Chengdu is great and the people are laidback?

I also need to find teaching work (I have three years experience in Taiwan).

What's the chance of finding stable teaching work in the city?

Any other info you got, I'm listening!

Thanks in advance..

Greg

PS: If you know of any well-priced hotels in the city please tell me about them - I'd prefer to book online before I get there.

PPS: If you a local/expat and you wanna show a newbie the ropes, by all means, I'm willing!
Jul 27, 2006 04:46
  • JIUZHAIGOU
Hi,Greg,

I am Mickal in Chengdu,local man,have lived here over 30 years,welcome here,hope see you soon.

It is true the weather is not as good as it is in Kunming especially in Winter,but it is not so bad in autumn.
I recommend Sim's cozy for your first stay in Chengdu

Hope meet you in Chengdu.

Mickal-Driver/guide in Chengdu

yahoo.com|csm028
Jul 27, 2006 11:13
  • RAINB0W