Menu
Chinese Women Questions
Feb 13, 2007 12:42
  • JRONGIRL
Hello everyone!

My name is Jocelynn and I live in Miami, Florida US. I’m also a Journalism student attending Florida International University and for one of my classes we are starting a news website created by us. I am trying to write an article about Chinese women, especially young girls coming out of school, and I was just wondering if anyone here would be able to help me answer some general questions I have.

Some people think that young women over there have a lot of pressure in becoming successful or independent of their families because of traditions. I know that the city is different, but that inside suburbs there’s still a strong sense of a patriarchal society and that is not easy for young girls to go about doing what they want. What do you think of this? Is it true?

Also, what’s up with having to be married? I don’t understand the importance of marriage over there but I find that a lot of Chinese women only concentrate on getting a husband before they are 30 years old. Besides, I've been reading some of the other posts and their education might affect their chances of finding a husband... so does that fact might affect a woman in finishing her career? Can someone tell me if many Chinese girls go to college or if the ratio of male-female in College is significantly different?

What are some of the most common careers Chinese women pick? and why?

Is the situation in the suburbs similar to that in the cities or completely different? Are girls in the suburbs more or less independent? If you are a Chinese woman living in the countryside, do you want to move to the city? How about from the city to the countryside?