Menu
Lone female traveler to Chengdu, Tibet, and YunNan...Is it safe?
Mar 3, 2007 10:40
  • KINIRA
Hi, I am a 24 yr old student from Texas, USA. I am planning to travel to Beijing, Si'an, Chengdu, Tibet, Yunnan, Guilin, Guangzhou, and Hong Kong this May-June.
Is it safe to be a lone female traveler?
If I stay in a mixed-dorm in a hostel, should I worry about having unruly roommates? or should I just get a private room to begin with?
If I leave my luggage in hostel so I can tour the city, do I have to worry about having my stuff stolen?
Since this is my first time traveling there, should I book tours from travel agencies to go to Tibet and Yunnan beforehand, or should I just go to Chengdu and see how I can go from there?
Thanks!!
Mar 3, 2007 11:14
  • LIONPOWER
No problem to travel. Teen age Chinese girls are traveling alone. Take care as you foreigner.

If you ignore about Chinese language, keep Business cards of the places which you have visited to return back to your destination showing these cards.
Keep a calculator for bargaining.
Keep some dry food and water with you.

Try to stay the Hotels registered by Chinese Govt.
Why you thinking for “mixed-dorm”? Hotel rent very cheap in China. So better to stay in private room, may be single bed, or multiple bed. Yes, your friends may stay with you. No problem.
Mar 3, 2007 12:09
  • GRIZ326
China alone at 24 is pretty ambitious. Can you take care of yourself in a dangerous American city? Have you traveled the States? Have you traveled aboard alone before? What I am really asking you to assess are your instincts. Are you naive? Do you have frequent "blonde moments?" Partying in bars is risky business. You must keep your wits about you. The ability to see danger before it strikes is very important.

Traveling as an American outside of the United States today is more dangerous than at any time in my traveler's memory.