Menu
Hengshan
Mar 8, 2007 16:16
  • HOEFFE
Hello all,

is there an member of this list thats lives in Hunan and even better in the area of Hengshan.. My adopted daughter lived in this area and especially for her, I like to learn more about it.

Can anyone tell me wich minorities live in the Hunan province... Can you see the difference in face, eyes, ears between the minorities.

Lisette
From The Netherlands
Mar 8, 2007 19:13
  • TRAVELDREAM
Hello Lisette,

I guess most people in cities of Hunan are Han people. You can't judge a person's minority by his/her face, eyes or ears, at least in Hunan you can't. Maybe their clothes will give you some information.
Mar 8, 2007 19:14
  • ELLEN77
I'm not a member from Hunan, but I know Mt. Hengshen is one of the four sacred mountains in China. The minorities there are mainly Miao, Tujia,etc. I think their costumes are different.
Mar 8, 2007 19:26
  • SERENA07
Hi, Lisette,

I graduated from Hunan University last year and I had spent four years of my college time in Hunan province.

The typical minority live in the province should be Miao Minority, I think, especially in the west part of the province. Actually, the Miao people do not have obvious difference in appearance compared with Han people, the Majority of Chinese. They have beautiful and distinctive costumes, however many Miao people just wear them on important festivals. In a few places, the Miao people keep their language well, so we can appreciate the excellent songs in their language.
Mar 9, 2007 03:29
  • JABAROOTOO
Hi Lisette,