Menu
Starting to learn chinese.
Jul 11, 2007 14:05
  • JASONROX88
I started learning to speak and understand Cantonese from the Pimsleur series. I'm getting another set of audio lessons, and a book on Cantonese grammar. This is to help expand my vocabulary and pronunciation.

I do plan on learning with an international student in September in exchange to teaching him or her English or French or even Mathematics if that's what they want.

In the meantime, I'm learning Cantonese. I'd also like to start writing simplified Chinese as it's becoming more and more common and it's easier. :)

Where do I start writing and reading?

I found websites with characters, so I guess I'll start doing flash cards and such. Any other tips? Like maybe where I can get grammar rules and such? Or should I just focus on knowing lots of characters and then start reading and writing stories and such?

Anyways, any advice is appreciated?

Also, later on I'd like to start learning to speak Mandarin after I know enough of Cantonese so I don't mix the two.

I'm really enjoying the learning so far. Although all I do is like 20-30 minutes a day (one lesson), and I repeat the lessons until I have it very comfortably. I'd like to spend another 20-30 minutes learning characters. Anyways let me know your tips.

Thanks!
Jul 11, 2007 19:46
  • YVONNE
You'd better live with a cantonese so that you can talk with him in Cantonese as much as possible.

Don't just memorize single characters.
Jul 11, 2007 20:24
  • JASONROX88
Yeah, I'll be reading and learning the structure behind the writing as well.

I don't think I can live with a Cantonese. That's not practical.
Jul 11, 2007 20:42
  • JASONROX88
Yeah, I'm searching for good sources and books, but I'm finding it hard to find a solid book to learn Chinese characters (simplified).

Any recommendations?

I found a link that I'll start reading tomorrow about strokes, radicals and such.
Jul 11, 2007 21:37
  • FAERIEQUEENE