Menu
Renewing a Visa a second time
Aug 17, 2007 07:11
  • VAGABONDER
I have sort of interesting situation which I hope to get some insight on. Up until the end of July, I was a teacher in Liaoning Province on a Z-visa and Foreign Worker's Permit. At the end of the school year, I made the decision to move to Beijing and see non-teaching related work. The University I was working was able to secure a 30-day F-visa. I was told that once I got to Beijing, I could then apply for anothe visa.

However, now that I'm in Beijing, the private visa offices I have contacted said that I would most likely have to leave the country to do this.

I have two questions: Is there any way around leaving the country to renew my visa again.

If I do have to leave the country to renew my visa, could I do this in Mongolia or S. Korea (it might be cheaper to get there from Beijing), or is Hong Kong the best option to get this done quickly?

thanks

JB

Aug 18, 2007 01:51
  • JABAROOTOO
First go to your local PSB and apply for the longest F or L visa you think you can get. They at least will be able to tell you what the next step will be if they will not renew it. Don't leave it too late.
I have no idea what the cost of going elsewhere than HK but HK is far the simplist even if is may cost a little more. You may be able to get cheap flights to Shenzhen and Guangzhou and all you need is one day if you get there before lunch at most overnight or base yourself in Shenzhen and go in early and out late in one day.
Aug 18, 2007 01:53
  • JABAROOTOO
Oh, and don't make out that you are looking for work. You could get a couple of months on a tourist visa if you show them an itinerary after all it is not unusual after finishing a contract to stay on travelling around the country for several months.
Aug 20, 2007 01:53
  • APAULT