Menu
Comparing languages
Dec 6, 2007 20:54
  • CANADAGUY
This question is directed primarily at those who are not Chinese nationals but still have learned to speak Chinese plus a few other languages in addition to your native tongue.

I'd like to know how you rate each language in terms of difficulty, when you were acquiring them.

Let's use a scale of 1-10, with 1 being the easiest and 10 being the most difficult, to learn the language.

So for example if someone stated:
French: 6
Spanish: 7
Chinese: 9

We assume that none of the languages are their native language and they felt Chinese was the most difficult to learn and French was the easiest.

I look forward to your replies! :)

Dec 7, 2007 02:31
  • TOMSPENCER
I'm not sure whether I can attribute scores to language in terms of how easy I've found learning them, but I certainly have an opinion.

My native language is English and at school I studied Latin, French and German.

I probably ought to have started by saying that I have never been good at languages. Don't know why. I love languages - just never mastered them.

Never-the-less, I found French relatively simple as, growing up in the south of England, I visited France often and got in some practice in those formative years. Also, of course, French uses an alphabet very familiar to speakers of English, and indeed there are a great many similarities between the two languages.

The same could be said for German. In fact, in many ways German was even easier to learn than French because (to me) it seems to resemble English more closely.

Although a lot of English is derived from Latin, I found this language just a bit too full of unfamiliar grammar for me to really make much headway.

When I came to China I could neither speak nor read Chinese and everyone insisted that it was one of the most difficult languages to learn. That is, by the way, why I came here - because I thought that only by living in the country could I hope to learn the language properly.