Menu
Several western culture-related questions
Feb 25, 2008 00:26
guestlearner Hello all,

I am a Chinese student. Currently, I am learning English and have great interest in western culture. I have several culture-related questions:

Why does American often " cross my heart and hope to die"?

Why do Americans spill the rice on the body of the bride and the body of groom during the wedding?

In the west, do you have the custom that the man always walks on the outside when he is with a woman on the street? Do I make myself understood?
I mean: When a man walks along the street with a woman, as a rule,the man ought to be one who keeps nearer to the central road.

Can anyone help me with these questions?Thank you in advance for your help!
Feb 25, 2008 00:30
GUESTLEARNER Sorry, the first question should be:

Why does American often say "cross my heart and hope to die"?
Feb 25, 2008 00:36
  • JABAROOTOO
It's good to see your interest in such things.

I'll answer the third question for you relating to the male walking on the curb side of a lady.
It dates back to horse and buggy days and unpaved roads where the man would shield any water splashing or other danger from the lady in his company. Of course it is something that is seldom practice these days although if I am walking with a child I always place myself between them and the curb for safety reasons.

Crossing the heart and hope to die is an oath for keeping a promise or a secret but I'm not sure of it's meaning.

Throwing rice or confetti over the bride and groom after the wedding is symbolic of good wishes - again I have no idea why rice is used but it could have something to do with it being a seed that springs to life giving a wonderful increase in the next season.

I hope someone can shed a little more light on these last two for you.
Feb 26, 2008 11:46
  • SETH