Menu
Choosing a city
Apr 14, 2008 22:49
guestTrav Hello everyone! I've done some research, read some blogs, tour guides, etc but am still looking for a bit more information. I will be moving to China and staying for at least 1-2 years. I am getting TEFL certified for teaching (I am a current student and don't have a BA yet) in Suzhou. However I haven't decided where I want to teach. Only real necessities are I don't like really cold weather (like Suzhou from what I've read), pretty cheap cost of living, and reasonably available internet access. Anyway, if you have any city stories, recommendations, or anything else, please feel free! Thanks for any info.
Apr 15, 2008 00:52
  • LEMONCACTUS
haha! I think you need to define "really cold"... Suzhou perhaps gets down to 0 in winter which is pretty warm compared with -20 in the north east of China. If you want "warm" winters you need to head south (and perhaps West).

Most places in China are cheap. Obviously the bigger the city the higher the cost of living. If you want to go to Beijing/Shanghai... the living costs will be higher. The wages tend to be higher too, for obvious reasons. Most of the salaries offered by schools allow a VERY comfortable standard of living in China, far better than the average... and with no utilities and housing costs... etc. Internet access is readily available in most places, schools will set it up for you or help you out.

Something to consider is the size of a city. I am in a city of 500,000 people which makes it about the third biggest city in my native England... but here in China it's tiny. The facilities are very limited, no train station, about 1 bar, (KFC.... unfortunately that HAS arrived here), no cinema etc and there are practically no foreigners.