Menu
Travel and transport in China
May 19, 2008 14:02
  • CHINAGHOST
Hi everyone I am new to this so not really sure how this thread goes but will give it a go.
I am going to China in August to work and have never been before so don't really know what to expect although I love the idea of expecting the unexpected which I am sure it will be.
I arrive in Shanghai on 10th August 2008 and then have to go to Kunming after spending two weeks in Shanghai. My question is about transport and how do I get from Shanghai to Kunming in the cheapest yet safest way possible?
I was looking at flights but they are really expensive and I am not familiar with other modes of transport. Can anyone give me any advice on how to get to Kunming from Shanghai as I leave Shanghai on 22nd August and must be in Kunming by 24th August which is a Sunday I think.

Thanks for reading this and I hope someone or anyone can help me out with any information or links and it would be much appreciated.

Kind regards

C-Ghost
May 20, 2008 00:53
  • JABAROOTOO
More on the price of flights.

I just did a search for flights from SH to Kunming on 22/23 August and prices available are only Y2050 or Y3000

However if you do a search for next month those two flights have discounts as low as Y1100 for the 3hour plus flight.
Good value for money for less than US$165

So wait until you have arrived. It is always cheaper to buy domestic tickets in China and even over the counter at the Airport.
May 20, 2008 09:47
  • BOOSYBOY
If you wan to see the real country of China you MUST go by hard seat for a true experiance.

Shanghai is an intresting place where the tourists arn't
May 20, 2008 10:29
  • JSUMMERS83
Must go by hard seat?! I have to strongly disagree with you!

Hard seat adventures should not be a first-time experience and definitely not on a journey over 24 hours long.