Menu
Teacher with degree wondering about job
May 21, 2008 21:25
guestBilbo in China Hi! This is my first post here. I live in Beijing with my Chinese wife, we are having a "year" off from work rigth now, but in april 2009 I will start looking for jobs here. Im from Sweden and I have been working as a teacher for 8 years (kids aged 7-12 mostly). I also have a teachers degre, I guess in English I would call it a Bachelour of teaching, from the Univeristy of Umeå (far north of Sweden). In my degre i specialized in history, Swedish and English. Although I am not what you migth call a native speaker I am always misstaken for an Englishman (from other Laowais) so I guess my English is up to a good standard.
So my question: how does the job market look for a guy who has this resume´ ? What do I do to "prove" that I have this degree? I have already a certificate from the Chinese embasy certifying that my degree is geniune, do I need more proof? Were is the best way to start looking for a job for me do you think?

Thank you all in advance for your anwers and your help, I realy appriciate it!

/Michael

My blogg (in Swedish though):
http://bilboinchina.blogg.se/
May 22, 2008 02:56
  • JABAROOTOO
Hi Michael,
Welcome to the forum. I'm sure you language skills are more than adequate. First question is whether or not you want to work in the Chinese Education System or the much smaller International Schools System (Pays better for longer hours plus benefits).

If you prefer teaching children you may be able to find a good job working with kindergarten and primary ages, especially in Beijing where there is a huge demand. Chinese schools often post online or through ESL related websites and of course there are many private Language Schools around that offer good salary packages and working conditions to the right people.