Menu
I Need Some Advice
Jun 18, 2008 18:31
  • ADAM87
I'll try keep this short.

I've been planning coming to Shanghai for a while now, I would like to become a English tutor in Shanghai. Just a new life, I am not liking life in the UK.

I'm just a little confused over the visa rules.

Little background on me, I'm young (only 20), and have no experience teaching English but I'm fluent in English as it is my first language.

I want residency and a work visa, I know I cannot become a permanent resident but I can reside in Shanghai, having to renew the visa often which I wouldn't mind at all.

I have a few worries. Is teaching English warrant a visa or do I need to be in higher skilled? And remember I have no experience in English teaching, so how hard would it be for me to find work?

I hope someone can answer my questions.

Thank you very much.
Jun 18, 2008 18:40
  • ADAM87
Sorry for the double post but I made a little mistake.

Does teaching English warrant a visa or do I need to be higher skilled?

Before someone points out my mistake, I want to point it out first haha! It is very late and has been a long day, so please excuse my mistake!
Jun 19, 2008 05:07
  • JABAROOTOO
Hi Adam,
Of course it would help if you were my highly skilled but..................

First, you need a job to get a work visa.

Second, to get a job you need to apply for some. You'll find these posted on ESL websites. Do a thorough search before making any commitment. Positions in Shanghai should but don't always require more qualifications - at least TESOL certification.

Third, keep in mind that a job that requires no qualifications or experience may not be the best.

Read other teacher blogs and postings so that you know what you are getting into.
Shanghai is also a more expensive city to live so your salary may not go as far it it would in many other places..
Jun 26, 2008 12:38
  • BARONTWANGLE