Menu
What are your attitudes toward "fulgural marriage"?
Jun 24, 2008 01:58
guestedward
Hi everbody,

I am a newbie here. My Eglish is not good. I don’t know if I choose the right expression. In Chinese, we have an expression: 闪(shǎn)婚(hūn),which means getting married too soon. The two people get married after meeting for only several days. It is as quick as the speed of lightning. I don’t know how to translate it into English accurately. I have searched about the expression in English.
I found several translations: “speed dating” “lightning marriage” “fulgural wedding”. I don’t know which one is correct. Can some English-native-speakers help me? Thank you in advance. I am preparing a short research paper on the topic.

“Fulgural marriage” is a rage among the Chinese post-1980s generation. It has become a stylish living style for the young Chinese. The young Chinese people now the popular belief that the tempo of modern life is too fast and young people are busy in working. So young Chinese people don’t have enough time to engage in “ the Marathon dating or courtship”. They don’t have much time to have a better mutual understanding before marriage. Some young Chinese just thought that knowing each other too well will make them become bored with each other and end up with breakup. Furthermore, young Chinese people are now very open and bold. They don’t take divorce and marriage seriously. Some thought that “we can get married today and divorve tomorrow. It is not a big deal”. I want to know how different people view the “figural marriage”. Opionions from both Chinese and Foreigners are welcome. An extra question: will you dare to try the “fulgural marriage”?
Jun 24, 2008 11:11
  • JABAROOTOO
Hey Griz,

Fulgural -- Here's another 'new' word for all us native speakers. Never heard of it before!! has anyone else.

Dictionary meaning

(adj) pertaining to lightning
Jun 24, 2008 14:45
  • GRIZ326