Menu
Yunnan in Kunming
Aug 20, 2008 02:30
guest02002 Hi there

Next week I am going to live in Kunming in the region of Yunnan. Although I have done some research into Kunming I don't know much about Yunnan in fact nothing!!

I am a new English teacher and really want to see the culture and speak to the people although I don't speak any other language apart from English.
I would love to find out the following information:
How far is Yunnan from Kunming and is their good transport links between the two places. Also how big is Yunnan?
What is the food in Yunnan like as I love simple vegetarian food and at present am in Shanghai and find it really difficult to get simple non fried vegetarian food. Also I want to know if you can get good quality green tea at either a tea house or from the shops?
Are there good supermarkets or local shops which have a variety of food/drink etc?
Are there temples or other places to visit in Yunnan as I adore Buddhist temples and am really into finding a massage parlour where trained blind people massage you as this is something I have never heard of before.
Where do other English speakers hang out in Yunnan as I am interested in meeting the natives but also get the chance to speak to English speakers who may offer advice on living in Yunnan and where to go.

Last thing but what other places are near Kunming which I can go visit such as Lao or Vietnam or even other regions next to Kunming.

Any information would be really appreciated and I hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you

Shantelle Delmonti

P.S If anyone in Yunnan is interested in getting English lessons then please send a email to me at: yahoo.com|Shantelle_D, stating what you are looking for in terms of the language.
Aug 20, 2008 03:09
  • ELLYSE
Kunming is a city (the provincial capital, in fact) of Yunnan province. So your 1st question doesn't make any sense!
How big is Yunnan province -- are you referring in terms of land area, population, GDP or what?