Menu
1001 questions from a newbie China traveller
Feb 4, 2009 14:21
  • BO18
Hello everyone,

I'll be travelling to China in april/may for 3 weeks and had some questions really.
I bought the LP and rough guide but I still have some unanswered questions.

The most important one would be my budget. This is my first time in China (or asia for that matter) and have no clue on how to budget.
I'm usually a frugal person and dont spend too much on holidays/travels. I'm staying in hostels (which I already booked btw) so no worries there. I'm a major foodie though and spent most of my holiday exploring food
Anyways I budgeted around £300 a week (this is without acc. as thats already paid). One week will be spent in beijing, one week in nanjing and xian and one week in shanghai.
Do you think 300 pound will be enough? This will have to include train-travel, food, sightseeing really (i hate clubbing on holidays hehe)

Im just afraid that i'll be cash-strapped

Also, i'm travelling alone for the first time. Any handy tips regarding that? I'm planning on buying a phrase-book (duh) and those useful cards with basic chinese characters on them (metro restaurant, police, bank, airport etc etc)

I know 2 looooong questions but if you could answer them I would be eternally grateful!!!!!
I hope I'll enjoy my trip in china as Im planning another one for end this year.

Thanks!

Feb 4, 2009 14:23
  • BO18
LOL that was ment to be my profile pic. Hahaha, blimey there is something wrong with me today LOL
Feb 4, 2009 20:59
  • CHARITY
What a happy smile! Hehe-^0^, If you stay in hostels and not party all the time in big city , Your money should be sufficient. You can rent a bike or moto for travelling in big city, it's much cheaper and more convinient.
Best regards
Charity
Feb 4, 2009 22:30
  • ELLYSE
Good grief!!! 300 GBP would be enough for me for a month or at least 3 weeks!
Feb 5, 2009 02:49
  • ATHOME
Hi,