Menu
kitesurf xiamen
Jul 8, 2009 07:49
  • SUPERCHAUEN
Hey,im from spain and i was wondering if anybody knows if it's possible to kitesurf in xiamen and if the conditions are good and where are the best spots for kiteboarding/living there.

Im thinking about moving there in a few months but at the moment i dont have any job offers. I was thinking about teaching spanish ...How's the demand of spanish teachers there? In fact im an electrical-electronics engineer but i guess it must be more difficult to get an engineering job in a chinese company than teaching spanish, aslo my chinese is really really poor.

Any information will be apreciated.

Cheers.
Jul 10, 2009 07:31
  • JABAROOTOO
happy sailing,

I'm a sailor and enjoy sail boarding which you can do in Xiamen. You can most likely kite sail as well as there are beaches and several huge bays although hey are tidal and you may need to know the banks and channels. Look for the locals when you arrive and hang out with them.

Assuming that you will bring all your own gear with you as you are not likely to find much here. I've never seen a glass board, only plastics and most of the equipment is average or geared for beginners and I've seldom seen a harness or lines.

Qingdao probably has more to offer. I was in Hainan recently and while I found a harness etc the board was a bit of a 'tank' and not enough wind to really get any speed up. I never went out just watched a few beginners drifting about. But it's something I miss and don;t get much of chance to do even when I go home these days.
Last edited by JABAROOTOO: Jul 10, 2009 07:34
Jul 10, 2009 07:33
  • JABAROOTOO
PS you could also sail off some of the beaches but you'll need to check things out for underwater obstacles first but at least on the b each you'll get unobstructed wind compared to in the bays.

Get to know the locals. You may be able to introduce the sport to some of them.
Aug 3, 2009 06:11