Menu
advice for one week in china, and eclipse
Jul 15, 2009 06:50
guest16176 Hi,

I am going to china to see the eclipse, but havent figured out what im doing other that that. I will arrive in and depart from Shanghai, and was thinking to maybe go to Wuhan and Chongqing, but now Im thinking that maybe Chongqing is too far.

So here are a few questions:

Is any one else planning on seeing the eclipse? Since I am flexible for dates I thought I would decide a couple days beforehand based on the weather, but now Im not sure if thats a good idea.

What are some ideas for travelling for a week within Shanghai? Also, Ive been to the city before, so Ive already seen a fair number of the main tourist attractions already.

Are there good night trains or buses that are available? Are they comfortable? I think it would be a good use of time to travel between destinations in the night, but I have had some bad experiences with night buses.

Thanks!

John
Jul 15, 2009 09:09
GUEST72201 a correction; i meant to write "around Shanghai" not within Shanghai,

a couple other questions;

does anyone know of a place in Shanghai where I could buy a solar filter for my camera?

for the night buses or trains, I am particularly wondering abuot the course between Shanghai Nanjing Wuhan and Chongqing...otherwise, for regular transporation, what would be the best means of travelling between them.

I would be interested in a boat cruise for a couple days on the Yangtze, but all I find are longer ones online. I have also rad mmany bad things. What are peoples opinion? Are interesting short cruises available? Maybe even a half day only.

Thanks,
John
Jul 16, 2009 04:30
  • ELLYSE
What are your sightseeing interests and preferences, and what have you already seen before?