Menu
help with the planning
Apr 18, 2010 09:20
  • EJUNG6
Going to China has always been my dream, and seems this may come true soon!

I'm planning a trip for about a month-long, possibly in late May or early June (I can leave in early May, if it's better). My point of entrance and exit would be Dalian, but since I haven't bought the ticket, I'm willing to change this if anyone suggests.

I said one month, but as I was planning, there are just too many places I wanted to visit. So I boldly excluded the far-western part of China, but I still need to cut down more.

Here is what I have now. Please feel free to slash and cut this apart. Some things I was particularly concerned with were the followings:
-I'm not too much of a thrill-seeker, but am really interested in different culture and lifestyle, so they are what I tried to include in my itinerary mostly.
-I'm a poor poor student, so am trying to keep the cost low as possible (the main mode of transportation would be overnight train, staying in hostels if available)
-I'm a young girl and am travelling alone. Also, although I have some experience in travelling, it's minimal. I'd rather be safe than be sorry
-I look like Chinese, but do not speak any Chinese (zero at all). As much as I would love to interact with the locals, I would feel much more comfortable if the places to visit are somewhat touristic so that I can communicate in English.

(add a extra day each for taking trains, I'm taking soft sleepers for all)
Dalian: 2 days, city sightseeing (bus)
--> overnight train to Beijing: 7 days, city sightseeing (tourist special smart card) + the great wall
--> train to Xian: 2 days, the usual
--> to Chongqing: 3 days, (bus)
--> Kunming: 3, (renting bike)
-> Nanning: 3, (bus)
-> Guilin: 3, inc. day trip to Li River (to Yangshuo), sightseeing (bike)
-> Guangzhou: 3, bus to Mt Baiyun for a day-trip,
-> bus to Macau: 3, bike
-> go back to Gaunzhou and train to Shanghai: 5 days, Transportation Card