Menu
Slow travelling Yunnan and Sichuan. Advice please
Aug 3, 2010 15:50
guest10245 Hi all

I'll be backpacking Yunnan and Sichuan by myself mid Oct - Nov for 5 weeks. I'm hoping I'll make friends whilst travelling. I would really appreciate any advice regarding my trip plans (whether any places are dangerous for a girl - I'm Vietnamese and am learning basic mandarin phrases and their answers but I won't be able to understand much). This is my first time in China and I'm really interested in natural beauty and traditional culture.

My trip:
Land and spend a few days in Shanghai

Fly to Lijiang
- Spend a couple of days wandering the old town
- Bicycle to Baisha see Jade Peak Monastery along the way
- Jade dragon mountain. I read somewhere that the cable car to it is closed till Nov?? :( I was also wondering does anyone actually go and see all three bases of the mountain? Or is that a waste of money? I wanted to hike around Yak Meadow but if that requires a bus then cable car then I will save my money
- Spend a few days hiking Tiger leaping gorge

Bus to Shangri La
- See Ganden Sumtseling Gompa
- Wander about the old town Square St
- Rent a bicycle, does anyone know if I have to bicycle far to see the natural beauty for free? I don’t want to pay to see Napa Lake because I read that once in there you have to hire a horse to get around.

Bus to Deqin
- Taxi to Feilai Si Y30, stay the night, watch the sun rise
- Bus to Mingyong glacier, wander the forest and meadow, hike to Lotus temple for fantastic views of the glacier framed by prayer flags.
- Trek to Yubeng waterfall: bus from Deqin to Xidang, hike 3km to a hotspring. Pony hire 25km (four – six hours?) to the mountain pass two-thirds of the way to Yubeng Villages then hike the rest of the way up, stay the night. Hike around the trails there.