Menu
New to China - Good places to learn Chinese?
Oct 19, 2010 02:51
  • CHRISB2010
Hey everyone,
My wife and I just arrived in China and would both like to start learning Chinese. Cost matters, but its not the most important aspect we are looking at. If anyone has any experience with a trusted teacher/service/company etc., please feel free to offer any insights. Thanks in advance!
Oct 19, 2010 02:53
  • BIRDROCKSTER
If you want to speak Chinese, I recommend doing it online. I've been doing it from the Philippines since I left Hangzhou a couple of months ago. Private tutors seemed nice at first, but my motivation to continually meet and study on their schedule waned after a couple of weeks. I tried online courses from Surf Chinese and study on my own schedule from home now.
I would also recommend taking Tai Chi lessons from a professional instructor from around where you will live. You and your wife will find it very relaxing and fulfilling while you live in China. Good luck!
Oct 19, 2010 22:20
  • ARIESBUNNY
Welcome to China.

You can learn Chinese language at any city of China. I am sure all the teachers can speak standard Mandarin Chinese. Whereas, generally speaking, common people in the cities of North China speak better Mandarin than those from south.

But it is recommended you should avoid super cities, like Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou..... because of the high life expenses and too crowded people there. Sure if you still love to know about them, you can travel there but not live there.

Culture exploring will make your language learning more interesting. As the hometown of Confucius, Shandong province is a nice place for culture learning with long history and many historital resorts. Qingdao is a beautiful coastal city in Shandong province with nice climate, reasonable prices for housing & food and friendly people. It is well known for the so fine beach in China.

Search the internet for more knowledge of Qingdao city. I am sure you will love it.