Menu
Buying from a wholesale market and getting it home!
Dec 11, 2010 04:58
  • CUPANDACU
Hi All,

I will be visiting {Guangzhou,https://www.travelchinaguide.com/cityguides/guangzhou.htm} in 2 weeks and plan to purchase from the wholesale markets there.

I am new to this process and need some tips.
I am looking at getting large quantities of a variety of products from a variety of markets. I want to then consolidate them into on lot before shipping back home to Australia.

Firstly, can I simply turn up to these markets and purchase in cash? When I have paid for a large order, what is the next step?

Also, How do I best organise this to save on separate shipping. I am guessing I will need to get all of my goods stores temporarily while I complete my orders but where can I do this?

Thank you!
Phil
Dec 11, 2010 06:42
  • GIONVIA
Let me answer your two questions as follows :

a.Yes . Actually for the business in guangzhou wholesale market ,it is mainly cash transaction . You will need to exchange your USD into RMB and then go to the wholesale market to purchase .Generally speaking, 30% for deposit and you pay the balance when you go to pick up the cargo there. But for big orders ,you had better pay the balance after you check everything is all right here .

b.In order to save shipping cost , you had better consolidate all your purchasing into one shipment by sea .In this case ,you will need a forwarder to help yo
u out here . You may send all the cargo to your forwarder's warehouse and then consolidate as one shipment .But it really depends on how big is your order and if you donot want to use forwarder's warehouse , you may place all the orders firstly and then collect all your order on one day and then consolidate as one shipment.

Cheers and welcome to guangzhou !
Dec 11, 2010 21:57
  • CUPANDACU
Thank you for your response.