Menu
jobs for the unskilled?
Jan 20, 2011 19:18
guest34150 I'm an American who's an unskilled worker, and as such it's hard for me to find work in the U.S. I've been wanting to go to China (i'm already starting to try to learn Chinese, getting books and CDs and such), and I was wondering how easy it is for unskilled foreigners to find work in China. As a factory worker or some other kind of manual laborer or something.

I hear that it's fairly easy to find work as an English teacher, and that is the stereotypical job for the Westerner coming to China, but I have no experience in teaching and I haven't had much of a real education of my own (didn't finish high school, and no college). So I don't know if I would be able to get that kind of work.

Thanks in advance.
Jan 22, 2011 04:58
  • GAFFER
There are millions of unskilled workers in China many unemployed. China only needs, and gives permission to people who have "special" or "expert" skills which cannot be found among the Chinese workforce. English or language teachers are required to be native to that language so they are one of the few professions accepted. Regulations for teachers are now getting tighter. For a legal, reasonably paid job you would need a Degree, TEFL qualification, 2 years teaching experience and be under 60 years of age (sometimes younger).
Mar 8, 2011 04:15
hi,

i can´t completely confirm that.
Im 24 years old, from Germany And i have got a residence permit for one year, as well as an alien employment permit.

You dont really need a degree to teach. I would even say in MOST cases it´s enough to be a native speaker.

regards

Pat
Apr 7, 2011 14:30
GUEST13358 Ever considered "white people for rent"? Just google it.
I am serious. Companies in smaller Chinese cities hire white people to appear as "foreign business partner"; this makes the companies look "legitimate" and appear to have "international presence and backing."