Menu
Moving to China- visa, residency permit questions
Apr 17, 2011 16:31
  • VIRGINIA9742
Hi everyone, just found this site recently and it seems to be full of useful info.

I am traveling to China in 2 weeks, for the first time, for a month on a multi-entry L-visa. I am moving to China with my partner (probably after this 30 day trip), who is Chinese, and I am trying to find out what I will need to do to stay. I will probably return to the US, and then travel back to China. From what I have read so far, I will need to apply for a Z-visa (or possibly F-visa) and also obtain a residency permit. I'm not sure if I should try to do this myself or contact some visa agency in the mainland or HK, and also not sure what they will need from me. I'm not associated with any business for work, though we are somewhat connected in China so this may not be a problem.

Any help is appreciated as I'm very new to all of this and am trying to learn as much about the process and China as I can. Thanks!
Apr 19, 2011 01:04
  • MILES
You'd better find a visa agency in the mainland China or Hk to help you to get a visa because you will avoid many troubles. Have you got a multiple entry L visa? Do you mean that you just stay in China for 30 days for the first entry, then return to US, stay in China for a long time for the second entry? In fact, I'm not very clear about your question.
Apr 19, 2011 08:30
GUEST31464 Sorry for the confusion. So I have a multiple entry L visa, and I am going to China for a visit, then I'm coming back to the US, and after a couple weeks I will be going back to China to stay. What I'm trying to do is to find a way to stay in China the second visit.

I think you're right about the visa agency being simplifying the process.
Apr 19, 2011 09:08
  • APAULT