Menu
Applying for a Chinese F-visa in Hong Kong
Jul 16, 2011 09:08
  • LAURENTCHINE
I am currently in China with an F-Visa but it's going to expire at the end of this month and I cannot renew it here (because I've been in China for one year).

So I am planning to fly to Hong Kong to apply for a new F-Visa, however I am completely new to this and do it all on my own, so I don't know what to expect.

Does anybody know where I should go to apply for the visa? Also are there any pitfall I should be worried about? In general, do they give these visas easily? If someone could share some recent experience and info, that would be great. Thank you!
Jul 16, 2011 22:08
  • ENID
What passport do you hold? because people from some countries are banned from applying China visa in HK unless they reside or work there. The place in HK for China visa application should be the Commissioner's Office of China's Foreign Ministry in HK SAR.
Their address is 7th Floor, Lower Block, China Resources Building, No.26, Harbor Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong SAR.
If you are not among the list said above, it is easy even apply by yourself. Regular processing time needed is 4 working days at this office.
Jul 17, 2011 00:16
  • LAURENTCHINE
Thanks for the info! Do you know which countries are banned? I hold a French passport.
Jul 24, 2011 20:41
GUEST6130
Quote:

Originally Posted by LAURENTCHINE

Thanks for the info! Do you know which countries are banned? I hold a French passport.

The restrictions imposed on Hong Kong are now applied to Macau as well. Like Hong Kong, 33 countries’ citizens are banned from applying for a China visa in Macau, unless they are working or living in the city: Afghanistan, Tunisia, Algeria, Bangladesh ,Congo, Egypt, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, India, Indonesia, Iran, lraq, Mali, Libya, South Africa, Morocco, Kazakhstan, Kirgizstan, Malaysia, Philippines, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Nepal, Pakistan, Nigeria, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Turkey, Mauritania, Saudi Arab, Sierra Leone, Syria.