Menu
Depressed foreigner at work
Aug 20, 2011 05:59
guest38122 Hi I want to share a personal experience so do not be offended as I want advice on what I should do.I work as a English teacher at a school where I am the only foreigner.When I came almost a year ago most colleagues were cold towards me, they had a caucasion teacher for a number of years&I am Asian dark skin&proud but they often took a discriminating attitude towards me trust me I know when someone or in my case some people are judging me. In the work environment, I respect, treat people well and never flaunt what I have, I can be annoying but I am in China so I have learned to adjust my behaviour so that I don't make anyone feel bad&try to be a good person.
I don't smoke, drink, party or show off, I am actually a very laid back, friendly person my hobby is exploring nature boring to some but to me I love it.

My team consists of females&from day one they have gossiped, backstabbed, made fun of&made racist remarks but I am here to do a job&was hoping true friendships would form but it makes me feel sad that even after a year they still are the same if not worse but incredibily two faced.
One minute they want to befriend me the next they dump me in the middle of no where as they know I do not know the city or speak Chinese&then laugh about it that I was stranded, now I know it was just a case of using a foreign face to get what they want.