Menu
First-time trip to China; need lots of help...
Aug 16, 2005 09:49
  • ENRESSHOU
Welp, after some prodding from a friend of mine to go to China as well as Japan, we've decided to spend about two and a half to three weeks in China.
Therein lies the problem...I've been studying Japanese for about four years now, have a fairly good knowledge of the culture, people, and country, and I'm basically floundering in the water. I'm going to be taking Mandarin Chinese in college for the next year until our trip, but I just have a whole bunch of questions that I'd really appreciate to have answered...

I know about the more seemly side of China, but how safe is it? We'd like most of our excursions to be in the Sichuan, Yunnan, Guangdong, and Hunan provinces, and I was wondering about the general safety of both ourselves and our possessions.

I'll be sure to learn the universal basic traveller's expressions (where is the bathroom; etc), but are there any endemic expressions that I should take it upon myself to learn?

And what is probably my biggest question, especially considering I've only planned a trip in a country with an extremely convenient railway system: what's the easiest/cheapest way to get around?

We'd like to land in Hong Kong, go see Wulingyuan mountain, the Bamboo Sea in Sichuan (especially this), the Terracotta army possibly Wudang mountain, Yunnan, Chengdu, and a few other places, but I was wondering how easy it is to get around and what mode of transportation we should choose. I've looked around online but the train schedules are almost impossible to decipher, and I'm confused as to what to do; and, also, how easy is it to get around inside Wulingyuan?

Any answers will be very greatly appreciated, and thank you all for your time!
Aug 16, 2005 10:18
  • CALIFORNIA
hi,enresshou,firstly,welcome come to China for travelling!You have choosen some most beautiful places of China!!!