Menu
Foreigner sharing a room in Wuhan with his Chinese GF, OK?
Aug 19, 2005 01:39
  • YEMMIE
Hey folks,

I'm new to this. It just hit me why no one answered my question before. My titles made it sound like I am looking for a roomate. Not so. I am coming to visit my girlfriend and I wanted to know if there will be any problem if we share a hotel room. Thanks. Sorry to have taken up extra space on this site.
Aug 19, 2005 08:13
  • RITA
I think it's OK to share a hotel room, not an apartment unless you registered in the local public securities.

Make sure that she will check in the hotel together with you with her ID, not good if only you check in.
Aug 19, 2005 08:30
  • CALIFORNIA
Yes,I agree with Rita,pleast use her ID card!!!
Aug 19, 2005 15:43
  • MISHEN
Have to say I disagree on this one - I was travelling with a Chinese female friend once, NOT a gf at all but a FRIEND, and at several places we weren't allowed to stay in the same hotel room, and once were not allowed to even stay in the same hotel, even if we were sleeping in different beds.

In China, it's still illegal for an unmarried couple to share a hotel room. This is only a technicality though, as the practice is as common here as it is anywhere in the world. It's only very rarely that people ask questions. BUT - if you're a Caucasian or black foreigner with a Chinese girl, sometimes people get upset.

Foreigners must register where they are at all times - but as an independent traveller, I confess I've almost never registered. It all seems to be up to whether the staff at reception like you or not as to how many rules they call up.