Menu
Plan for tonight's...
Oct 30, 2006 19:53
  • ALICEGAO
Hi, guys, today is Halloween! Have you got enough scary stories for tonight? And did you cook any festival deserts?
Any funny and weird plans or suggestions are welcome!

Oct 30, 2006 19:55
  • CALIFORNIA
Haha,exciting......
Oct 30, 2006 21:36
  • IAMCANADIAN
haha is that an orange?
Oct 31, 2006 02:49
  • APAULT
Halloween? I was brought up in the UK..perhaps somneone with a US upbringing could tell us just what Halloween is all about. My students asked me last year,and I couldn't tell them much. All I know is that it is about ghosts, pumpkin masks, and children terrorising their neighbours.
Oct 31, 2006 02:57
  • LOVEISVERB
I am interested in the origin of Halloween too.
Oct 31, 2006 04:58
  • YEMMIE
Hi Guys,

I'm not an expert, but I looked up Halloween in a reference book I have. It is a festival held on the eve of All Saints Day or Hallomas. Originally, it was a Celtic festival, ringing in the New Year, welcoming spirits of the dead, and placating supernatural forces. The Scots and Irish brought it to the U.S. Today it is a children's festival. Trick or Treat means I will do some kind of trick against you unless you give me a treat. Naturally, we don't want people to do bad things to us, so we hand out candy to prevent it. Nevertheless, lawns are rolled with toilet paper, windows are egged or soaped, etc., on Halloween.
Oct 31, 2006 18:47
  • PINETREE
Origin of Halloween - here you are :-
It started from the Celts who lived in Europe more than 2000 yrs ago. On every Nov 1, they celebrated the end of summer. They thought ghosts visited the living on Oct 31 & they dressed up like ghosts so that the spirits would not harm them.
Today, many Western countries remember the dead on Nov 1 - All Saints Day. Another name for it is All Hallow's Day & 31st Oct is called All Hallow's Eve or Halloween !!