Menu
Chinese women on dating sites: theories/questions/opinions
Mar 1, 2007 14:30
  • GRIZ326
I have a theory about the Chinese women looking for men on the online dating sites. While I have some personal experience in this matter, I'd like to have my theory vetted by those on the ground in China.

The theory goes like this:

A very high percentage of the Chinese women on dating sites are looking for Western men hoping for a different life. Most of these women are divorced and perhaps older than Chinese men want a wife. They go to a "translator" for help in contacting a Western man.

The translator then places the woman's personals ad on the dating site and responds on her behalf with the information the woman provided the translator.

The relationship between the translator and the woman is a business relationship. If the translator doesn't produce a man to visit her, the translator only receives a basic fee. If a man shows up to visit her, the translator gets a large fee. If the man proposes marriage, the translator gets a very large fee.

This is what I suspect happened with the woman I met last summer.

My trip to Guangzhou this summer has nothing to do with women this time, but it doesn't mean I wouldn't enjoy meeting a nice woman. So I initiated contact with a few women on a dating site. The emails from the dating site women read almost like form letters using archaic English words. The emails do answer specific questions, but in a very business-like sort of way.

So now I am communicating with just one woman who admits she is using a translator. I do not intend to meet her when I am in China because I sense there will be some odd pressures involved with such a meeting.

My suspicion is that if I even meet this woman just for a cup of tea that she may have to pay a large sum of money to the translator for a successful contact.

Does this sound plausible?

Opinions please....
Mar 1, 2007 19:03
  • PEA28COCK