Menu
Travel for a Black American
Mar 30, 2007 10:50
  • BEEKIED2002
I have a couple of questions, How are blacks treated in China? Second..I will be traveling with my girlfriend who is Chinese. Dows anyone know if we will have any problems?

Also, I'm a professor at a University here in the states. It would be great to visit a chinese middle or high school. I had the chance to do this in Korea and had a great time at the middle school I visited. Can anyone help me with this?

Thank you

Don
Mar 30, 2007 18:15
  • APAULT
Don: Hopefully you will get replies from other people who have direct experience on the race question, but will make some comments based on what I have seen. Certainly there is some prejudice as I know that blacks find it harder to get teaching jobs. You will get stared at sometimes, but then so do all westerners from time to time. Foreigners are still a curiosity in some cities and as black foreigners are fewer, there's greater curiosity. I have met a few blacks, and each had a local girlfriend, the one I worked with had private students and knew all the locals in the shops etc... . So I think that prejudice is not very substantial, probably less than you would find in the US (unless there has been a big change of heart I havent heard about) or in my countries of Australia and the UK. In general, you shouldn't have any problems. I am sure you will enjoy yourselves.

Visiting Middle schools (there is no high school, middle school goes to 18 yrs) or a college should not be a problem. Ask young people that talk to you about their schools and if you can contact their teachers. You can then ask if you can give a class or perhaps easier is offer to hold an English Corner - an informal class really, but expect big attendances, especially if it is a school without a foreign English teacher. Mopst teachers will jump at the opportunity. Typically until they know you, you'll get low interaction in the class, but afterwards they will all come and talk!