Menu
Is it safe to bring expensive photography equipment?
Jul 24, 2007 13:10
  • JJASC
I'm going to china for three weeks and will be visiting the following cities: Hong Kong, Shenzen, Beijing, Shanghai, Hanzhou, Guangzhou, Guilin, Yangasho.

I'm a serious amature photographer and will be bringing about 5 thousand dollars of camera equipment (all stuffed into a vey very small camera backpack). The lenses, filters, accessories and Digital SLR camera will all be in the backpack, but my $800 carbon fiber tripod will be attached to the back of the backpack.

I'm a mite concerned with theft. The camera alone is probably worth more than many people make in a year there.

Do many chinese people have Digital SLR cameras? Perhaps they are common as dirt there. I really hope lots do because I don't want to stand out too much with my DLSR camera. I'm also worried that if I set up my tripod, attach my DSLR with all the filters, hoods, etc, I will get mobbed by curious people.

DO you guys have any comments on this?

Jul 24, 2007 15:14
  • GRIZ326
There is very little crime in China - however pick-pocketing and other forms of thievery sound common from hearing people talk about them (I've never had a problem). Because of the supposedly rampant pick-pocketing, there is a belief/saying that what you carry on your back is theirs and what you carry on your front is yours. That's a reference to people wearing backpacks backwards while walking around to prevent theft of their stuff.

If you are a serious photographer and will derive great pleasure from taking pictures of China, then you have to bring your camera equipment. ...and if your serious that means your gadget bag has to be full.

You will stick out like a sore-thumb with that kind of gear, but I do not believe you will be mobbed just because you are taking pictures. I probably saw only one or two tourist/photographers while I was traveling this summer and they were not carrying anything as fancy as what you describe.