Menu
What is the Best Method to Learn a Foreign Language?
Aug 21, 2007 21:45
  • MAY001
I've been learning English for over ten years and still not confident to say 'I know English well'. There are a lot of talent people who know more than two languages. How can they do that?? What's the best method to learn a foreign language?
Aug 22, 2007 00:25
  • DAVEC
I think that to learn a language well you need to start in the classroom but ultimately you have to be speaking the language with locals, by that I mean go to the country and speak it all day everyday. That is the only way to become fluent.
There are a lot of people who claim to be fluent in English but I am sure I could find some words and phrases that would confuse them as they have never been to UK and spoken to English people. I expect my Chinese to improve hugely when I move to China, but at the moment classroom is all I have here.
Aug 22, 2007 04:39
  • EVENING
You are totally right, Davec.
But less people have the opportunity to live and speak with locals. I really wish I could go to Britain some day.
Aug 22, 2007 09:30
  • GRIZ326
>>>but I am sure I could find some words and phrases that would confuse them

Didn't you just do that to me, Dave???

If I go to the UK or Australia I won't know what the locals are talking about some of the time. ...after all, what the heck are bangers??? ;-)
Aug 22, 2007 10:03
At a guess dave was talking about sausages, or a firework, or an old car. depending on the subject of the topic.
The more popular would be sausage as in Bangers and mash with onion gravy, yum yum
The way I talk think of Long John Silver in Treasure island ooh arh me 'earty
Aug 22, 2007 16:33
  • DAVEC
Sausages?? where did they come from ? Someone got food and not sharing with me eh.