Menu
1 Week in China. 3 Young guys. Which city to visit?
Oct 13, 2007 12:50
  • JJASC
I'm going to china during my university reading break (November 11-18).

I'm flying from Canada to Hong Kong on a Saturday, will arrive in Hong Kong late on Sunday then taking a bus from Hong Kong to Shenzen early monday morning, where I then have a choice to fly to any city. We then have that same monday till friday (we fly back to guangzhou firday night).

I'm going with two of my friends who have never been to china (I went to china for three weeks in the summer. I visited about 9 cities).

I need somewhere where there is alot to see and do, gives a good representation of chinese culture (for my firends), and has VERY SENIC places to visits outside of the city (couple hours bus or train). I'm a very serious amature photographer and will be bringing 4 thousand dollars of camera equipment, so I want to capture some really scenic landscapes while I'm there.

I was thinking either Shanghai, which has lots to see and do in the city, an amazing night life for three you guys to sample, and some nice scenic areas/ citys close buy (huangshan, suzhou, hangzhou). I've been to Shanghai and Hangzhou in the summer and loved both cities. However, as cool as Shanghai is, it doesn't really feel too chinese, more like new york with chinese people. I almost want somewhere that has more chinese culture and feel to it.

So I am also kicking around with going to Chendu. I have never been there before. It's supposed to have an amazing nightlife, fantastic food, a laid back culture, more chinese culture than shanghai, and some fantastically beautiful areas to visit a few hours outside of the city (juizhaigou for one).

As an aside, will the autum colors still be present in jiuzhaigou around November 13th? Will I have enough time to see chengdu and jiuzhaigou in 5 days?)