Menu
z-visa without university degree
Jan 12, 2008 03:00
guestRohman Hello, my name is Rohman, I'm 26 years old from Barcelona ( Spain ).
A month ago I found a company in Beijing offering me a job as PHP developer ( website programming ), and they started the procedures to get the work permit for me to apply for a Z-Visa here before going to China. Yesterday I received email from that company saying that they are having problems with the work permit because the law was changed this year ( because of the olympics ) and now a 4 years university degree is required ( I have a college degree, not a university degree )... so seems my visa won't be issued... they told me the only thing i can do is to apply for a F-Visa ( 6 months Business visa ), enter China and then apply for the Z-Visa after the 6 months.
Do somebody knows the chances to get the Z-Visa on those premises?? or another ways to get the Z-Visa??
Thank you very much
Jan 12, 2008 20:54
  • APAULT
I think the rule was there before but maybe it has been tightened. An interesting issue with a 4 year degree rule is that it in Britain a BA honours degree is 3 years, it always has been and has always been recognised as being of the required academic standard.

If you have a degree it should not matter that it is from a college provided it has University status. I teach in a Chinese college that offers degrees and is able to do so because it is affilliated to a recognised University. So if you have a degree, you should look at finding a way of explaining this...can you supply some evidence of this? As you come from the northern hemisphere you probably span 4 years....so you need to embellish this. In my experience they only look at at photocopy of your certificate, you don't have to produce further proof.