Menu
Criminal Background Check
Jul 3, 2009 03:21
  • NOMADMIC
I was told by the "Shenzhen Administration of Foreign Affairs " that Americans who want to teach legally in China ("Z" visa, "Residence Permit" and "Foreign Expert Certificate") must now return to their hometown and obtain a "Criminal Background Check" from the local police. Is this only being enforced in Shenzhen? I've heard there are 30 countries on the list, but Canadians, British and Australians are OK. The US Dept of State has this on its website and it reeks of "1984"! http://travel.state.gov/travel/tips/emergencies/emergencies_1201.html I've been teaching English in China for 6 years and I must say that this is the final straw! Any comments?
Jul 3, 2009 14:26
GUEST87220 I have a criminal record for misdemeanor stalking. Does this mean I can't teach in Shanghai? I will try if I don't need a certificate
Jul 16, 2009 00:40
  • APAULT
Nomadmic: This is a new situation - I notice that no-one has commented in the 2 weeks since you posted, perhaps because there has been no experiences yet. Can't you obtain the background check without returning? I agree that it must be very frustrating but this is hardly ''1984' stuff. If country wishes to exclude persons with criminal backgrounds that is hardly unreasonable, your country takes the same line!!....Though I think having to return to get it is a pain and I agree I wouldn't bother.

It is quite possible that other PSB offices might not apply thgis 'rule'. Unfortunately, you would either have to get a job offer in another municipality or get someone to make an enquiry elsewhere for you.

Please update us here in the light of any further experiences.
Jul 16, 2009 08:43
  • NOMADMIC