Menu
Empty-nest crisis in China
Sep 20, 2010 03:14
  • CHERRY07
A report claims that more and more Chinese families are transforming to “empty-nests”. As young people go to college or start their own career, their parents are left at home to live on their own. These are called “empty-nest” families. And these parents are usually in their late forties or fifties.

Honestly, my family is one of the empty nests. My little sister studied in a college in Tianjin. This year, she graduated and stayed there because she found a job in Tianjin. I have been working in Xi’an for three years since my graduation in 2007. And Xi’an is not my hometown. Currently, only my dad and mom are at home. We just get back home during the holidays.

Like other parents in empty-nests, my parents feel lonely since my sister and I are both not at home. They require us to make a call every week. Sometimes, they will be worried if we forget to call them. And we feel guilty for not being with them.

How do you guys deal with this? Do you have similar experience like me?

Sep 20, 2010 04:21
  • GAFFER
This is a natural progession from childhood to adulthood and would happen anyway when you got married. Obviously parents are concerned and worry when their "babies" fly the nest into the big bad world, but this should be the time when they think of themselves and not "the family". They should think about the things they would like to do, perhaps travel, hobbies or whatever they enjoy. Of course the children are busy with their new adventures and probably have less time to think about parents, who, for many years have done nothing but think about their children. My advice is to make plenty of time for phone calls, but also write letters (yes on paper). They will be more treasured than phone calls or emails.
Sep 25, 2010 02:40
  • CHERRY07