Menu
Xiamen or Taipei...HELP ME!
Jul 14, 2004 12:12
  • GSTARKWE
Hey all,

I just graduated college, came over to Taipei with my company, and am now being given the choice to move to Xiamen instead. I'm getting to know Taipei alright, but I know very little about Xiamen and am hoping somebody can tell me about the place. I know this is more a traveling website, so I'm hoping that one of you travelers have traveled to Xiamen and can answer one/some/all of the below questions.
THANKS!

1)For instance, is there an expat community there? I'm definitely going to meet the locals, but I fear I may get lonely if I go a year without having somebody with whom to talk baseball/football and complain about the Chinese government.

2)I don't even know what dialect they speak there. I studied three years of Mandarin in college and want to make sure I'm fluent over the next 12 months. I KNOW I can do that here in Taipei, but can I do that in Xiamen? How're the Xiamen University classes? Does everybody on the street speak Mandarin that me, a fresh schoolboy from the states, could understand?

3)How hard is it to get around? I'm not getting a scooter, maybe a bike (no, not a hog...a bicycle); is there public transit (I'm guessing buses but no subway?)?

4)What about public parks? I love running. Taipei sucks as far as running goes, but it DOES have Daan park, where I could go and run around it's 2k trail. Not great, but it's enough. Does Xiamen have affordable gyms?

5)I want to study judo or jiu jitsu (ie, one of the wrestling martial arts). Can I do that in Xiamen?
Jul 16, 2004 10:26
  • ANNA
Please don't worry! Everyone who first come to a totally new place, he/ she will feel very nervous, which is positive.
If you can understand the dialect in Paibei, I think there exist no difficulty for you to understand the one in Xiamen, because Taiwanese and Fujianese all speak the Mingnan dialect.
Jul 30, 2004 13:06
  • ELSA