Menu
HELP! I want to learn Mandarin
Dec 3, 2006 13:57
  • HIBBSEY
Dear Community

I would love to learn Mandarin and I was thinking of Taiwan as a suitable place to learn. However, I don't really have any idea of how to go about this. Can anyone out there advise me about what type of language schools I should apply to and where I would stay etc? Is anyone learning Mandarin in Taiwan at the moment??

As some background I am 27 and have been working for 4 years. I have a degree but not much savings!

Look forward to hearing from you all!!

H
Dec 3, 2006 20:40
  • APAULT
Have you considered working in Taiwan or China as a teacher? You have a degree which is the basic requirement. You can find many sites listing jobs, but the one I always look at first is www.anesl.com
Dec 5, 2006 13:12
  • HIBBSEY
Thanks - I had considered teaching English, but I thought it would be nice to have some language skills under my belt first, even if it's just basic level. But thanks for the website - I'll check it out....
Dec 6, 2006 00:36
  • RCHURRO
Hi Hibbsey,

I just joined today and this is my first post. I am in the exact same position that you are in. I'm chinese, but I was born in the USA. I graduated college in 2002 and I recently have been really interrested in leaving the corporate world and moving to China where I can learn the language and the culture. I have been trying to learn mandarin by listening to the pimsleur language course. It's kind of expensive though. Also I was looking into Chinesepod and they seem really good. but I'm going to try to finish one thing at a time. Does anyone else have any suggestions about what to do in China to survive that isn't teaching?... I have no experience in that area.

thanks.
Dec 6, 2006 03:26
  • ALICEGAO
To RCHURRO,
Working as a teacher is a nice but not the only way of making money to survive in China.
There're lots of foreign businessmen, administrators, and officers in international companies in China.